Battle of Ballinamuck Visitor Centre in Ballinamuck

Battle of Ballinamuck Visitor Centre is located in Ballinamuck (county of Longford)

Address: 1798 Memorial Hall, 1798 Memorial Hall, Ballinamuck
Postcode:

Position on map:

Phone: 087 2055462 / 087 9613312
E-mail: info@longfordtourism.ie

The Ballinamuck Visitor Centre, formerly the historic Royal Irish Constabulary barracks, is located in the picturesque village of Ballinamuck, North County Longford. Built in 1846, the barracks originally had two towers which were destroyed and burned by the IRA in June 1920, during the War of Independence. It was due to the continuous insurrection and revolutionary nature of the people of North Longford that the barracks was erected in the first instance. In 1948 the building was restored as a memorial hall, but without the two towers, and in July 1999 it was officially opened by President Mary McAlesse. The centre houses a fascinating and lively exhibition which details the famous Battle of Ballinamuck which took place in 1798.


Reviews

Review summary:

0.0
Rated 0.0 out of 5
0.0 out of 5 stars (based on 0 reviews)
Excellent0%
Very good0%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Recent reviews:

There are no reviews yet. Be the first one to write one.

You have visited this place? Submit a new review: