Downpatrick Railway Museum in Downpatrick

Downpatrick Railway Museum is located in Downpatrick (county of Down)

Address: Market Street, Downpatrick
Postcode: BT30 6LZ

Position on map:

Phone: 0044 (0) 800 2218941/ 0044 (0) 48 4461 5779
E-mail: downtrains@yahoo.co.uk

At Downpatrick Station, a modern visitor centre, the ‘Carriage Gallery’, tells the story of the development of railways in Ireland from the 19th century to today, and boasts six vintage passenger carriages – some of same type that starred in the 1952 John Wayne classic ‘The Quiet Man’ – the second oldest surviving steam locomotive in Ireland, one 1980s prototype Railbus and four goods wagons, including the former Belfast & County Down Railway’s “Royal Saloon”, which carried the future Kings George V and VI, as well as King Edward VII and their consorts. The station houses an exhibition of railway memorabilia, and there is a model railway on the ground floor for children. Refreshments are served in an 1950s buffet carriage. Travel back to the past with real vintage steam trains to Inch Abbey and King Magnus’ Grave, on Ireland’s only full-sized heritage railway. The Downpatrick and County Down Railway runs through the drumlin countryside of County Down, St. Patrick’s Country – over the River Quoile and under the graceful Down Cathedral to the peaceful ruins of Inch Abbey. With a mix of steam and diesel trains, and vintage carriages, there’s plenty for train fans of all ages – from wee kids to “big kids”.


Reviews

Review summary:

0.0
Rated 0.0 out of 5
0.0 out of 5 stars (based on 0 reviews)
Excellent0%
Very good0%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Recent reviews:

There are no reviews yet. Be the first one to write one.

You have visited this place? Submit a new review: